One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

tuition and fees

Tuition and fees are subject to change by the Texas Legislature and The University of Texas System Board of Regents and become effective in accordance with state statute and decisions of the Regents. The Texas Legislature does not set the specific amount for any particular student fee. The student fees assessed are authorized by state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by the university administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents.
 
Financial Responsibility
State universities and community colleges cannot extend financial credit. Students are expected to meet financial obligations within the designated time allowed. Registration fees are payable at the time of registration, and students are not entitled to enter class or laboratory until all their fees have been paid. (Exceptions: see “Payment by Installment” section.)

Prior to registering for a semester, returning students are required to pay or clear any outstanding financial balances with UTB by contacting the Accounting and Finance Office. These are some examples of outstanding financial balances that will prevent a student from registering for a semester. 

  • Balance on Installment Plan
  • Balance on Emergency Loan
  • Balance on Student Account
  • Balance on Financial Aid Repayment
  • Parking Citation
  • Library Fine

All charges are due within 10 days after a bill is rendered, or according to the special payment instructions that may be printed on the bill. Failure to pay any amount owed within the allotted time can result in the withholding of registration privileges, official transcripts, grades, degrees, and other penalties and actions allowed by law.

Students are expected to pay for tuition and fees within the specified payment period. Students are not entitled to enter classrooms or laboratories until payment for tuition and fees has been made or a payment option selected by the student. All tuition and fees must be paid at the Accounting and Finance Office before the payment deadline date.

Types of payments accepted at the Business Office:

  • Cash, Personal Checks made payable to: The University of Texas at Brownsville or UTB (include ID#), Money Order (include ID#), Credit Card Checks (include ID#)
  • VISA, Master Card, Discover, and American Express

All payments must be received before the deadline and payment must be for the full amount of tuition and fees. The Student identification number should be included on checks. Check payments may be mailed and must be postmarked on or before payment deadline. Mail checks to:

           The University of Texas at Brownsville
          
Business Office
          
P.O. Box 3640
          
Brownsville, TX 78520-3640

When a check is returned by the bank, a $25.00 nonrefundable returned checks service charge is assessed. The student is given ten days from the date of notice to make full payment by cash, money order, or cashier’s check. Once the student has had a returned check, UTB reserves the right not to accept personal checks from the student. Returned checks not paid will be submitted for collections. Students will be liable for any court costs and attorney fees.

For your convenience, VISA, Master Card, Discover and American Express payment information may be faxed to the Accounting and Finance Office at (956) 882 -7981 and must be received before the payment deadline. It is the student’s or cardholder’s responsibility to verify that sufficient balance is available in the account to process payment. The following is the information required in order to process payment. Forms are available at the Accounting and Finance Office for this information.

  • Student’s name, Student’s ID#, Type of Credit Card, Credit Card #, Expiration Date; Printed name of credit card holder, and signature of credit card holder.
  • Payment by Installment §54.007 of the Texas Education Code provides for payment by installment of tuition and mandatory fees in the Fall and Spring semesters.
  • Mandatory fees are those fees required of all students enrolled (i.e., Tuition, Student Service Fee, General Use Fee, Instruction Fee and Laboratory Fee).
  • Eligibility: Students who do not receive any form of financial aid, including scholarships, and are registered for a minimum of six semester credit hours, are eligible to pay by installment.
  • Options: Eligible students may elect one of two payment options during Fall and Spring registration.
  • Full payment of all tuition and mandatory fees in advance of the beginning of the semester (at registration); or
  • One-half payment of tuition and mandatory fees at registration and one quarter payment prior to the start of the sixth class week and the final quarter payment prior to the eleventh class week.

Once selected, an option may not be changed. However, advance payments will be accepted. Students dropping below the six mandatory hours must pay the balance in full.

Installment Payment Fee: A nonrefundable incidental charge of $7.50 per installment will be collected at registration in a lump sum. Payment of the entire unpaid balance will preclude any further incidental charges.

Collection after Registration: §54.007 of the Texas Education Code requires collection of the second and any subsequent installment before the class weeks indicated above.

Late Payment: Late installments will be accepted during the first three class days of the class week indicated above, but a nonrefundable late payment charge of $5.00 will be assessed in addition to the installment amount.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

To qualify for an Installment Payment Plan, a person must:

  • be a current student of UTB
  • be free of any outstanding financial balance with UTB
  • be registered for a minimum of three credit hours, and
  • have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0 and a minimum completion rate of 70 percent or higher.  

The completion rate is determined by dividing number of semester credit hours (SCH) completed by the number of semester credit hours attempted.  For example:  A student completes 21 SCHs of the 24 SCHs attempted (21/24 = .875). The completion rate for this student is 87.5%

TO APPLY

Students can complete the Installment Payment Plan Application process online by logging in to UTB Online.

Instructions:

  1. Log in to UTB Online using your User Id and Password
  2. Click on Students and then click on Installment Loan Application
  3. Fill out the application and press Submit.
  4. Complete and sign an Installment Payment Plan Promissory Note
  5. Pay a non-refundable Installment Payment Plan fee of $22.50, and
  6. Pay 50 percent of the total tuition and fees due for the semester before the payment deadline.

The remaining 50 percent will be divided into two equal payments due 30 and 60 days from the first day of classes.

If you wish to verify your completion rate and grade point average, click on Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).

Important Information

  • If a student selects the Installment Payment Plan and then drops below the required three credit hours, the balance of tuition and fees becomes due in full.
  • If a student selects the Installment Payment Plan, and adds additional classes during the Add/Drop Period, the plan will not be adjusted to accommodate the tuition and fees for the added courses.
  • Payments made after the Installment Payment Plan Due Date are subject to a late fee of $5.00 and $25.00 reinstatement fee.
  • Students who fail to pay their Installment Payment Plan balance in full, including any late charges, are subject to the following actions at the discretion of the University:
    • Prevent from re-admission to the institution
    • Withholding of grades, degrees and official transcripts
    • All penalties and actions authorized by law
  • The Installment Payment Plan is subject to change without notice or obligation in keeping with the policies and actions of The University of Texas System Board of Regents and in conforming with the laws of the State of Texas.

Reinstatement: Late installments will be accepted after the first three class days of the class week intended above, but a nonreturnable reinstatement charge of $25.00 will be assessed in addition to the installment amount.

Failure to Pay Installment Tuition: Students who fail to fully pay tuition and fees, including late fees assessed, when the payments are due, are subject to one or more of the following actions at the university’s option:

  • Bar against readmission at the institution;
  • Withholding of grades, degrees and official transcripts; and
  • All penalties and actions authorized by law.

Note: Payment by Installment Policy is subject to change without notice or obligation in keeping with the policies and actions of the Board of Regents and in conforming with the laws of the State of Texas.

Cost of Attendance
The cost of Attendance (COA) is an estimate of what it costs the typical student to attend UTB for a given period of time, and includes the following comonents:  tuition and fees, books and supplies, room and board, transportation, and personal and miscellaneous expenses.

Standardized costs of attendance are established each year and are applied to applicants in similar situations.  This means that students with similar circumstances will receive the same allowances for each component included in the cost of attendance.  Students may request a cost of attendance evaluation by providing current documentaiton of expenses with a written explanation of unusual circumstances to the UTB Financial Aid Office.

For an academic year, the most common costs fo attendance at UTB can be found at:
http://www.utb.edu/em/fa/Pages/CostofAttendance.aspx

Tuition and Required Fees

Required Graduate registration fees for residents of Texas for each semester include the following:

Tuition................................. $191.39 per semester credit hour

Student Service Fee $12.00 redit hour up to a maximum of $150.00 per regular semester

Records Fee............................. $10.00 per student per semester

Student Union Fee.................................... $45.30per semester

Advising Fee.............. Graduates $25.00 per student per semester

Library Fee................................ $5.00 per semester credit hour

International Education Fee.......................... $2.00 per semester

Medical Services Fee.................................. $24.20 per semester

Student Recreation Fee.............................. $79.00 per semester

Athletic Fee................................................... $5. 00 per hour

Technology Fee..................$ 45.00 base plus $ 12.00 per semester credit hour

 

For example, a Graduate student who is a resident of Texas and who enrolls for nine semester credit hours in a Fall or Spring semester would pay $2,289.01  of required registration tuition and fees. The table does not include required laboratory fees or individual instruction fees which are listed with the individual course descriptions. Tuition and fees are subject to change without notice or obligation in keeping with the policies and actions of the Board of Regents and in conforming with the Laws of the State of Texas.

UTOC Distance education courses offered via the University of Texas Online Consortium will be billed to the student in accordance with the course tuition and fees charged by each UT System campus varies and is based on residency status. As a result, the cost of taking a course will vary depending on which campus offers that course. Each campus will bill you directly for the courses you take. Specific information about costs for academic courses can be found on the campus webpages below.

 

Notification of Tuition Bill

The university will notify students on their tuition bill, tuition receipt, or an e-mail in connection with tuition charges, of the amount of their tuition payment that is required to be set aside to provide financial assistance for students enrolled at the university, in accordance with Texas Education Code, §56.014.

 

Other Fees and Deposits

Add/Drop Fee............................................................ $5.00

Auditing Fee............................................................ $50.00

If class auditing is permitted, this nonrefundable fee will be charged per class audited.

Copy/Print Card Fee................................................... $10.00

Fee for a copy/print card for $10 for 250 copies/prints from any computer designated for student use; additional copies/prints at .05 cents

Distance Learning Fee

Web-based Fee......................... $25.00 per semester credit hour

Interactive Video Fee...............$25.00 per semester credit hour

Foreign Insurance Fee per semester............................. $462.00
(Fee subject to change without notice.)

General Deposit........................................................ $10.00

All Upper Division, UTB Undergraduate and Graduate students must make a General Deposit to help offset the cost of property loss or damage and any other amounts owed to the university. Applications for refunds will be processed at the Accounting and Finance Office. Money will remain on account until such time as the student graduates or officially withdraws from UTB.   The General Property Deposit may not be paid in installments.  Any deposit which remains unclaimed for four years from the date of last attendance will be forfeited.

Graduate Students Application Fee................................ $30.00

This fee is assessed to defray costs incurred in processing the Graduate application.

Graduation Fee......................................................... $25.00

This nonrefundable fee is charged for certificates and degrees to defray costs for processing applications for commencement, music, graduation speaker, postage, diplomas, and other expenses associated with graduation.  All students participating in the commencement ceremony are required to purchase the proper graduation regalia from the UTB/TSC Bookstore.  Students are not permitted to participate without proper regalia.  Students wishing to transfer their application for graduation to another period will be required to pay an additional $5.00 fee.

Identification Card Replacement Fee................... $10.00 per card

Installment Payment Fee............................................. $22.50

Available ONLY during Fall and Spring

Laboratory Fee (Courses listed below)                                      $20.00

5170       Laboratory Topics in Biology
6303       Evolutionary Ecology
6306       Field Botany

Late Payment Charges.................................................. $5.00

Late Registration Fee ................................................. $30.00

Library Fees

Overdue itemsFees vary according to time the item is overdue.

Lost itemsFees vary according to original or replacement costs of item plus a $ 25.00 service fee.

Damaged itemsFees vary according to the extent of the damaged and cost of repair or replacement.

Reinstatement Charge................................................ $25.00

Returned Check Charge.............................................. $25.00

This nonrefundable charge will be assessed to students for each returned check. UTB may refuse to accept checks from students who have previously had a check returned for insufficient funds or other reasons. NSF checks not paid will be submitted for collection. Student will be liable for any court cost and attorney fees.

College of Education-Foreign Field Experience................ $550.00

Fee for students that take EDEC 6310.65 and BILC 6322.65

Student Liability Insurance Fee per Academic year............. $.82

(Fee subject to change without notice)

Testing Fees (are subject to change without notice)

       GRE.................................................................. $160.00

      TOEFL................................................................ $160.00

Thesis Binding Fee......................................... $16.00 per copy

Five copies of a Master’s Thesis must be bound and presented to UTB. The exact cost depends on the length of the thesis.

Transcript Fee (official)................................................. $5.00

Vehicle Registration and Operation Permit...................... $20.00

Students, whether full-time or part-time, who will operate a motor vehicle in the campus area must register the vehicle with the Campus Police Office. This fee is nonrefundable after the first class day. A permit to be placed on the vehicle indicating the permit number will be provided. To park on the Fort Brown Campus, students must purchase a semester or academic-year parking permit. Campus police enforce the Texas vehicle inspection laws for vehicles parking or driving on the Fort Brown Campus (Texas Education Code, § 51.207). For further information, visit the Campus Police website or call the Campus Police dispatcher.

Parking Classifications:

Faculty, Staff, Students (annual fee)............................................ $60.00

Disabled................................................................................. No charge*

Afternoon Students 1:00-4:30......................................................... $6.00

Replacement Permits:

Replacement Fee............................................................................. $1.00

Enforcement Fees:

General Parking Violations........................................................... $10.00

No Permit....................................................................................... $25.00

Fire lane, Disabled, Grass Area, etc............................................... $35.00

Immobilizer Charge....................................................................... $10.00

Late Payment Charge (60 days)..................................... $25.00

*No parking permit fees are charged for permanently disabled people or disabled veterans as defined by Section 681.001 (2) and 504.202, Texas Transportation Code.

Refund Policy

Withdrawal from the University: Students who are enrolled and who officially withdraw or are dis-enrolled shall have their tuition and specified mandatory fees refunded according to the following schedule:

Long Semester

Prior to the first class day of the semester................................... 100%
During the (first) five class days of the semester.......................... 80%
During the (second) five class days of the semester..................... 70%
During the (third) five class days of the semester......................... 50%
During the (fourth) five class days of the semester...................... 25%
After the fourth five class days..................................................... None

May Session

Prior to the first class day of the semester................................... 100%
During the first class day of the semester..................................... 80%
After the first class day of the semester....................................... None

Summer Session

Prior to the first class day of the semester................................... 100%
During the first,................................................................................. 80%
During the second class day........................................................... 50%
After the second day of the semester.......................................... None

Dropping a Course/s: Students who reduce their semester credit hour loads by officially dropping a course or courses and remain enrolled at the institution will have tuition and specified mandatory fees refunded according to the following schedule:

Long Semester

During the first 12 class days of the semester............................. 100%
After the 12th class day of the semester...................................... None

May Session

During the first 2 days of the semester........................................ 100%
After the second class day of the semester................................. None

Summer Session

During the first two class days of the semester.......................... 100%
After the second class day of the semester................................. None

Mini-Courses

Students who are enrolled for mini-courses and officially withdraw will have their tuition and specified mandatory fees refunded according to the length of the mini-course. Due to the variety of lengths of mini-courses offered at UTB, the Accounting and Finance Office must be consulted for the refund schedule.

For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.