One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200


Faculty Vitas

Department of Educational Psychology Leadership Studies

Dr. Olivia Rivas, Chair and Professor Olivia.rivas@utb.edu
Dr. Chuey Abrego, Associate Professor Chuey.abrego@utb.edu
Dr. Michelle Abrego, Associate Professor (phased out) Michelle.abrego@utb.edu
Ms. Mozelle Barron, Lecturer Mozelle.barron@utb.edu 
Dr. Andres N. Vallado, Associate Professor (phased out) Andres.vallado@utb.edu
Dr. Juan O. Garcia, Lecturer Juan.o.garcia@utb.edu
Dr. Alejandro Garcia, Assistant Professor Alejandro.garcia@utb.edu
Dr. Lionel J. Cavazos, Assistant Professor Lionel.cavazos@utb.edu
Dr. Eunice Lerma, Assistant Professor Eunice.lerma@utb.edu
Dr. Jaime H. Garcia, Assistant Professor Jaime.h.garcia@utb.edu
Dr. Ana L. Rodriguez-Garcia, Assistant Professor Ana.rodriguezgarcia@utb.edu
Dr. Karin Ann Lewis, Assistant Professor Karin.lewis@utb.edu
Dr. Steven Chamberlain, Associate Professor Steven.chamberlain@utb.edu
Dr. Mary G. Curtis, Associate Professor Mary.curtis@utb.edu
Dr. Terry Overton, Professor Terry.overton@utb.edu
Dr. Hsuying Ward, Assistant Professor Hsuying.ward@utb.edu


Department of Health and Human Performance

Dr. Zelma D. Mata, Chair & Associate Professor Zelma.mata@utb.edu
Dr. Gayle L. Brogdon, Associate Dean & Assoc. Prof. Gayle.brogdon@utb.edu
Dr. Phillip Conatser, Associate Professor Phillip.conatser@utb.edu
Dr. Eric James, Assistant Professor Eric.james@utb.edu
Dr. Murat Karabulut, Assistant Professor Murat.karabulut@utb.edu
Dr. Christopher Ledingham, Associate Professor Christopher.ledingham@utb.edu
Mr. Gonzalo Garza, Lecturer Gonzalo.garza@utb.edu


Department of Language, Literacy and Intercultural Studies

Dr. Sandra Mercuri, Chair & Associate Professor Sandra.mercuri@utb.edu
Dr. Miguel Ángel Escotet, Dean & Professor Miguel.escotet@utb.edu
Dr. Kip Austin Hinton, Assistant Professor Kip.hinton@utb.edu
Dr. Sandra Musanti, Assistant Professor Sandra.musanti@utb.edu
Dr. Brendan H. O’Connor, Assistant Professor Brendan.oconnor@utb.edu
Dr. Alma D. Rodriguez, Associate Professor Alma.rodriguez@utb.edu
Dr. Graciela P. Rosenberg, Professor (phased retirement) Graciela.rosenberg@utb.edu
Dr. Kathy Bussert-Webb, Professor Kathy.bussertwebb@utb.edu
Dr. Lori Ann Wells, Lecturer Lori.wells40@utb.edu


Department of Teaching, Learning and Innovation

Dr. Reynaldo Ramirez, Jr. Chair & Associate Professor Reynaldo.ramirez@utb.edu
Dr. Janice Butler, Associate Professor Janice.butler@utb.edu
Dr. Carmen Garcia-Caceres, Lecturer Carmen.garciacaceres@utb.edu 
Dr. Maria Elena Corbeil, Associate Professor Mariaelena.corbeil@utb.edu
Dr. Joseph Rene Corbeil, Associate Professor Rene.corbeil@utb.edu
Dr. Peter B. Gawenda, Coordinator of Doctoral Program & Associate Professor Peter.gawenda@utb.edu
Dr. Irma S. Jones, Professor Irma.s.jones@utb.edu 
Dr. Cheng Chang “Sam” Pan, Associate Professor Sam.pan@utb.edu 
Dr. Laura Jewett, Assistant Professor Laura.jewett@utb.edu 
Dr. Ming-Tsan “Pierre” Lu, Assistant Professor Mingtsan.lu@utb.edu 
Dr. Bobbette Morgan, Professor Bobbette.morgan@utb.edu
Dr. Zhidong Zhang, Assistant Professor Zhidong.zhang@utb.edu
Dr. Ignacio Rodriguez, Lecturer Ignacio.rodriguez@utb.edu
Dr. James Telese, Professor James.telese@utb.edu 
Dr. Maria Eugenia Diaz, Assistant Professor Maria.diaz36@utb.edu
Dr. Gregorio Garcia, Assistant Professor Gregorio.garcia@utb.edu
Dr. Georgianna Duarte, Professor Georgianna.duarte@utb.edu
Dr. Vejoya Viren, Associate Professor Vejoya.viren@utb.edu 
Dr. Janet Martinez, Lecturer Janet.martinez@utb.edu
Ms. Sonja Varbelow, Lecturer Sonja.varbelow@utb.edu
For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.