One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

Mathematics Faculty

Bouniaev  

Mikhail M. Bouniaev, Ph.D., Professor and Dean CSMT
Doctor of Science, MPSU, Russia, Highest Accreditation Commission of the USSR
E-mail/Phone: mikhail.bouniaev@utb.edu 956-882-6701
Office: LHSB 2.202A

Contreras  

Rogelio R. Contreras, Associate Professor
Ph.D. C&I (Math. Ed.), Texas A&M University, 2002
Specialization: Mathematics for teachers, teaching with calculators
E-mail/Phone: roger.contreras@utb.edu 956-882-6635
Office: LHSB 2.818A

De la Cruz  

Edgar De La Cruz, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Brownsville, 2008
Specialization: General education courses
E-mail/: edgar.delacruz1@utb.edu 956-882-7666
Office: LHSB 1.808A

Glazyrin  

Alexey Glazyrin, AssistanGlazyrin.aspxt Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, Moscow State University, 2010
Research interest: Computational discrete geometry
E-mail/Phone: alexey.glazyrin@utb.edu 956-882-6610
Office: LHSB 2.520

Hilsenbeck  

James A. Hilsenbeck, Assistant Master Technical Instructor
M.S. Mathematics, Texas A&M Kingsville, 1995
Specialization: General education mathematics, teaching with technology
E-mail/Phone: james.hilsenbeck@utb.edu 956-882-7271
Office: LHSB 2.526

Maissen

James Maissen, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of Florida, 2013 
Specialization:  Topology, Geometric Topology, Continuum Theory, and Group Actions Particular focus on the Hilbert-Smith conjecture
E-mail/Phone: James.Maissen@utb.edu 956-882-5099 
Office: LHSB 2.512​

Mogilski  

Jerzy K. Mogilski, Associate Professor, Chair
Ph.D. Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, 1979
Research interests: Topology, functional analysis/modern analysis
E-mail/Phone: jerzy.mogilski@utb.edu 956-882-6628
Office: LHSB 2.528

Oleg  

Oleg Musin, Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, Moscow State University, 1980
Research interests: Discrete geometry, coding theory, geometry and topology, computational geometry, applied mathematics, algorithms, image processing, cartography and GIS
E-mail/Phone: oleg.musin@utb.edu 956-882-6627
Office: LHSB 2.522

Luis Sanchez  

Luis A. Sluis_sanchez.aspxanchez, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Brownsville, 2006
Specialization: Teaching with technology, general education courses
E-mail/Phone: luis.sanchez@utb.edu 956-882-6649
Office: SETB 1.436

Shaga  

Shaghayegh Setayesh, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Brownsville, 2008
Specialization: Algebra, Teaching with technology, general education courses
E-mail/Phone: shaghayegh.setayesh1@utb.edu 956-882-8892
Office: LHSB 2.526

 
 
Vatchev  

Vesselin Vatchev, Associate Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of South Carolina, 2004
Research interests: Approximation theory, signal analysis, numerical analysis, harmonic analysis
E-mail/Phone: vesselin.vatchev@utb.edu 956-882-6673
Office: LHSB 2.516

Taeil Yi  

Taeil Yi, Associate Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of Florida, 2000
Research interests: Complex dynamical systems, biomathematics, technology in mathematics
E-mail/Phone: taeil.yi@utb.edu 956-882-6621
Office: LHSB 2.524

Zieschang  

Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Professor
Habilitation, Kiel University, Germany, 1991
Ph.D. Mathematics, Kiel University, Germany, 1983
Research interests: Algebra
E-mail/Phone: zieschang@utb.edu 956-882-6620
Office: LHSB 2.508

 

​​​​
Jerzy Mogilski ​Associate Professor and Chair ​LHSB 2.528 ​(956)882-6636 ​jerzy.mogilski@utb.edu
​Mikahail Bouniaev ​Professor and Dean ​LHSB 2.202A ​(956)882-6701 ​mikahail.bouniaev@utb.edu
Rogelio Contreras ​Associate Professor ​LHSB 2.818A ​(956)882-6635 roger.contreras@utb.edu
Edgar de la Cruz ​Lecturer SETB 1.436 ​(956)882-7666 edgar.delacruz1@utb.edu
Alexey Glazyrin ​Assistant Professor ​LHSB 2.520 ​(956)882-6610 ​alexey.glazyrin@utb.edu
​Roberto Herrera ​Lecturer ​LHSB 1.830 ​(956)882-6636 ​roberto.herrera@utb.edu
James Hilsenbeck ​Lecturer ​LHSB 2.526 ​(956)882-7271 ​james.hilsenbeck@utb.edu
​James Maissen ​Assistant Professor ​LHSB 2.512 ​(956)882-5099 ​james.maissen@utb.edu
Oleg Musin Professor LHSB 2.522 ​(956)882-6627 ​oleg.musin@utb.edu
Luis Sanchez ​Lecturer SETB 1.436 ​(956)882-6649 ​luis.sanchez@utb.edu
​Shaghayegh Setayesh ​Lecturer ​LHSB 2.526 ​(956)882-8892 ​shaghayegh.setayesh1@utb.edu
​Jose Vera ​Lecturer ​LHSB 1.830 ​(956)882-6636 jose.vera@utb.edu
Vesselin Vatchev ​Associate Professor ​LHSB 2.516 ​(956)882-6673 ​vesselin.vatchev@utb.edu
Taeil Yi ​Associate Professor ​LHSB 2.524 ​(956)882-6621 ​taeil.yi@utb.edu
​Paul-Hermann Zieschang ​Professor ​LHSB 2.508 ​(956)882-6620 ​zieschag@utb.edu
 
For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.