One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

Mathematics Faculty

Bouniaev  

Mikhail M. Bouniaev, Ph.D., Professor and Dean CSMT
Doctor of Science, MPSU, Russia, Highest Accreditation Commission of the USSR
E-mail/Phone: mikhail.bouniaev@utb.edu 956-882-6701
Office: LHSB 2.202A

Contreras  

Rogelio R. Contreras, Associate Professor
Ph.D. C&I (Math. Ed.), Texas A&M University, 2002
Specialization: Mathematics for teachers, teaching with calculators
E-mail/Phone: roger.contreras@utb.edu 956-882-6635
Office: LHSB 2.818A

De la Cruz  

Edgar De La Cruz, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Brownsville, 2008
Specialization: General education courses
E-mail/: edgar.delacruz1@utb.edu 956-882-7666
Office: LHSB 1.808A

Glazyrin  

Alexey Glazyrin, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, Moscow State University, 2010
Research interest: Computational discrete geometry
E-mail/Phone: alexey.glazyrin@utb.edu 956-882-6610
Office: LHSB 2.520

Hilsenbeck  

James A. Hilsenbeck, Assistant Master Technical Instructor
M.S. Mathematics, Texas A&M Kingsville, 1995
Specialization: General education mathematics, teaching with technology
E-mail/Phone: james.hilsenbeck@utb.edu 956-882-7271
Office: LHSB 2.526

Ranis  

Ranis Ibragimov, Associate Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of Waterloo, Canada 
Specialization:  Applied Mathematics
E-mail/Phone: Ranis.Ibragimov@utb.edu 956-882-6672
Office: LHSB 2.518

Maissen

James Maissen, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of Florida, 2013 
Specialization:  Topology, Geometric Topology, Continuum Theory, and Group Actions Particular focus on the Hilbert-Smith conjecture
E-mail/Phone: James.Maissen@utb.edu 956-882-5099 
Office: LHSB 2.512​

Mogilski  

Jerzy K. Mogilski, Associate Professor, Chair
Ph.D. Mathematics, Polish Academy of Sciences, 1979
Research interests: Topology, functional analysis/modern analysis
E-mail/Phone: jerzy.mogilski@utb.edu 956-882-6628
Office: LHSB 2.528

Oleg  

Oleg Musin, Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, Moscow State University, 1980
Research interests: Discrete geometry, coding theory, geometry and topology, computational geometry, applied mathematics, algorithms, image processing, cartography and GIS
E-mail/Phone: oleg.musin@utb.edu 956-882-6627
Office: LHSB 2.522

Luis Sanchez  

Luis A. Sanchez, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Brownsville, 2006
Specialization: Teaching with technology, general education courses
E-mail/Phone: luis.sanchez@utb.edu 956-882-6649
Office: SETB 1.436

Shaga  

Shaghayegh Setayesh, Lecturer
M.S. Mathematics, University of Texas at Brownsville, 2008
Specialization: Algebra, Teaching with technology, general education courses
E-mail/Phone: shaghayegh.setayesh1@utb.edu 956-882-8892
Office: LHSB 2.526

 
 
Vatchev  

Vesselin Vatchev, Associate Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of South Carolina, 2004
Research interests: Approximation theory, signal analysis, numerical analysis, harmonic analysis
E-mail/Phone: vesselin.vatchev@utb.edu 956-882-6673
Office: LHSB 2.516

Taeil Yi  

Taeil Yi, Associate Professor
Ph.D. Mathematics, University of Florida, 2000
Research interests: Complex dynamical systems, biomathematics, technology in mathematics
E-mail/Phone: taeil.yi@utb.edu 956-882-6621
Office: LHSB 2.524

Zieschang  

Paul-Hermann Zieschang, Professor
Habilitation, Kiel University, Germany, 1991
Ph.D. Mathematics, Kiel University, Germany, 1983
Research interests: Algebra
E-mail/Phone: zieschang@utb.edu 956-882-6620
Office: LHSB 2.508

 

 

For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.