One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200
Give to UTB Button

Distinguished Lecture Series

The Distinguished Lecture Series first began in the fall of 1999. Each year, the Distinguished Lecture Series hosts a chosen guest that speaks to local students and also to community members. This event is a fundraiser held to raise money for the Annual Fund of The University. The Annual Fund is also known as The Annual Fund: UTB Fund for Excellence, which helps to provide funding for students, faculty and staff where state funding is either inadequate or nonexistent. In the past The Annual Fund has paid for scholarships, professional membership fees, student and staff development travel, music equipment and more.

2011 Speaker - David Oshinsky - Thursday, October 13

David Oshinsky

2010 Speaker - Blake Mycoskie

Blake Mycoskie
Blake Mycoskie Lecture

2009 Speaker - George Friedman

George Friedman
George Friedman Lecture

2008 Speaker - Jared Diamond

Jared Diamond
Jared Diamond Lecture

2007 Speaker - Jorge G. Castaneda

Jorge G. Castaneda
Jorge G. Castaneda Lecture

2006 Speaker - David McCullough

David McCullough
David McCullough Lecture

2005 Speaker - Jane Goodall

Jane Goodall
Jane Goodall Lecture

2004 Speaker - Benazir Bhutto

Benazir Bhutto
Benazir Bhutto Lecture
For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.