One West University Boulevard, Brownsville, Texas 78520 | 956-882-8200

UTB "A" Team Loses to UT Dallas and "B" Team Defeats The University of New Mexico in final Round

FORT WORTH, TEXAS - December 30, 2011 - The UTB chess teams competed in the final round of the Pan American Intercollegiate Team Chess Championships this morning.

The UTB "A" Team was defeated by the University of Texas at Dallas 3-1. The only one to win his game was GM Timur Gareyev.

The "A" Team consisted of-

#1 Board: GM Timur Gareyev

#2 Board: GM Mauricio Flores

#3 Board: GM Axel Bachmann

#4 Board: IM Max Cornejo

The "A" team finished the tournament 5th out of 28 teams with 4 points out of a possible 6.

The UTB "B" team defeated University of New Mexico 3.5 to .5. WGM Katerina Nemcova, WGM Nadya Ortiz, and WIM-elect Daniela De la Parra won their games, and WIM Luciana Morales drew hers.

The "B" team consisted of-

#1 Board: WGM Katerina Nemcova

#2 Board: WGM Nadya Ortiz

#3 Board: WIM Luciana Morales

#4 Board: WIM-elect Daniela De la Parra

The UTB "B"team finished 7th out of 28 teams with 4 points out of a possible 6.

Daily updates about the UTB Chess Team at the 2011 Pan American Intercollegiate Team Chess Championships in Fort Worth, Texas will be posted on this web page Dec. 27-30.

The top four finishers will qualify for the 2012 President’s Cup, known as the Final Four of College Chess to be held March 31 – April 1, 2012, in Herndon, Virginia, outside of Washington, D.C.

Live coverage of the matches will be provided by

Click here for more details of the 2011 Pan American Chess Roster

For comments and questions, please contact the Webmaster.